uk

I have a quick story about a super noob moment that I’d figured I would share. So I’ve been playing WoW for maybe about a year and a half or so, with some downtime in between and I would like to think that I’m no slouch when it comes to knowing how to play the game now. Since this was my first MMORPG I had a very tough time figuring out what the hell was going on around me, but I stuck with it and figured out the intricacies of the game.

I was on my new main, a dual spec Shadow/Holy priest, and got an invite to heal for regular Utgarde Keep. I had done this instance countless times as dps and I had also healed it once before so I was pretty confident in my ability to heal this particular instance. We get in and start clearing trash and I notice that I have to use several greater heals just to keep the tank alive, which didn’t seem normal at all. To make matters worse, as a result of having to use the big heals I’m also running through mana after every pull. However, I’m still a little new to healing I’d say, and I’m certainly new to healing the Wrath content so I assumed this was normal.

We get to the first boss and I’m having to pull out all the stops fairly soon: Guardian Spirit, Gift of the Naruu, and even the healing buff given to herbalists. Something was really wrong. Luckily there was a shadow priest who was able to pull some solid back-up heals otherwise we wouldn’t have made it through the fight. The rest of the instance continues like this and I’m starting to really doubt my abilities as a healer…and so is the tank. To move the story along, we ended up finishing the instance with the shadow priest on heals most of the time and me constantly out of mana.

A day or so later I was reading something on the Plus Heal forums where the topic of spell rank came up so I figured I would check it out. As it turns out, every time I had trained new spells the updated ranks were only updated on the spec I was currently in, which was usually shadow. So, essentially I was attempting to heal UK with spells that had been outranked ages ago. Needless to say I felt really dumb after figuring this out, but also pretty damn good in that I was able to do a semi-passable job using low ranks spells.

So the moral of the story is: Always check the ranks of your spells.

Brad

For the faction my character is associated with!

