This past weekend I became really frustrated with not being able to find any 5-man groups going so I decided to try something a little different. I remember that I had a ton of Emblems Of Heroism on my main Mage that were just sitting there so I decided to turn them in for a one-hand sword and a bow…and committed to starting a hunter alt. Considering that I used so many emblems on the gear, I will probably eventually see this character to 80 as well.

I went with a Draenei just because I really like the look and the racial traits are also pretty usefull. The name, Scrafyscrifs, is one of my first characters to not have a podcast related name. Instead it comes from a video that I recently found on YouTube directed by Bob Odenkirk in which they create funny fake names. Oddly enough, my first priest that I leveled to 59 on the Horde side, Kleepklop, also comes from the Mr. Show quote, “Pour me another space-beer, Kleepklop.”

Right at level 1, I instantly sent him 20 gold, 4 Netherweave bags, and 3 heirlooms items and then headed straight for Stormwind since I’ve always really enjoyed leveling in that area. Of course it might not be a pure way to the play the game, but after doing it so many times before without any aid, it felt very cool to have a low-level character so loaded with great gear. At first I was a bit skeptical about how much the weapons would really help speed along the leveling process, but any doubts were gone very quickly.

Before I could even realize it I was rolling through levels pretty quickly and loving it. Something about firing off arrows was really relaxing. Then, at level 10, I did the questline for taming pets and the real fun began. I’ve played a warlock up to about level 11 or so in the past and of course I’ve had a ton of vanity pets, but something about taming an animal to have by your side was very different. As weird as it sounds, I felt a little bit of a connection for the pets and so far I have three.

The first pet I tamed was a wolf in Westfall. I named it “Grandpa” after one of the host’s dogs from the podcast Stop Podcasting Yourself, but for some reason I really didn’t like the feel of having the wolf. I later saw someone with a bear and figured I’d give that a shot after hearing that they might be good for tanking. I still haven’t named it yet, but so far it’s been the best out of all three that I’ve tamed. It seems to have a good amount of health and can get aggro very quickly. One bad part though is that it doesn’t seem to be able to AOE tank at all, but maybe it will later.

Right before logging off for the day I then tamed a spider was but I don’t think I’m really liking it very much. I’ll probably have to play around with it a bit more. I’m looking forward to trying out some different varieties of pets in the future but I’m not sure if I’ll go for the exotic pets since marksmanship seems to be a better dps spec. Either way, I’m really enjoying everything about the hunter class and it’s been a blast playing it. I’m currently at about level 20 or so and building up rest bonuses to make the process go by even faster.

Brad

For the faction my character is associated with!

