WoWScrnShot_052509_173638

After QQing quite a bit about being bored at level 80 as a reasonably geared mage, I decided to put all of my efforts behind leveling my Draenai Priest named Truckspank. Like all of my favorite characters that I’ve made, the name Truckspank comes from a podcast. This one comes from a great podcast called You Look Nice Today. I highly recommend it if you enjoy highly literate and offbeat humor.

Last week I did my best to clear out as much as I could on my bank alts through vendors and the auction house in order to get the 1,000 gold to dual spec on the priest. I also grinded through some Northrend quests as well on Chipdipson to get the last bit of gold needed. I got dual speccing on my mage a while ago and went deep frost as my second spec but it’s really not that fun. I think it’s mainly boring because it’s just a different kind of damage as opposed to being able to tank/heal like other classes. So far on Truckspank though it’s been great to have dual spec for leveling as shadow and healing in instances with a deep holy spec.

So far I’ve been able to get some really great groups going and I’m having a lot of fun with WoW again. The above picture is from one of several Zul’Farrak runs I did this past weekend. Before we entered the instance we all lined up right in front without realizing it so I got a screenshot of it. I was actually able to get some pretty good gear and exp by doing a lot of instances. I ran Uldaman a couple times, ZF, and also did a late night Sunken Temple run.

WoWScrnShot_052509_120527

In most cases, healing instances is pretty easy and thoughtless fun. As long as things don’t get too crazy, I usually just throw out a couple renews and bubbles and sit back and collect some exp while other people do all the work. Not too bad. But, I also think that healing in instances is pretty rewarding. There’s nothing like the feeling of knowing that everyone would be dead if you weren’t there.

On the same token though, I’m a bit worried about how I’ll do in the Wrath instances once I hit 80. I’ve had experience healing a lot of the vanilla WoW 5-mans and it was pretty easy, but for some reason I’m thinking that the new content will be much harder to heal. I’m also still intending on running a lot of PVP at 80 to get the feel for healing in tight situations.

For Truckspank’s professions I’m doing Herbalism and Alchemy. In regards to Herbalism, I really like the Lifeblood heal-over-time spell as well. It’s certainly saved me from many a wipe while questing. I’m still however a bit on the fence as far as Alchemy goes. I know that I will probably never use most of the quick spells like magic resistance or invisibility for 15 seconds. I guess the two-hour long defense buffs are pretty good though for questing. Truckspank is currently level 49 and I’m looking forward to getting into Outland as soon as possible.

Brad

For the faction my character is associated with!

