heroic

I’m sure I’ve said it before in the blog, but I’m truly a fan of how Blizz implemented the heroic instances in the Wrath expansion. Between the reputation gains you get through wearing tabards, the badges, and of course the opportunity to get some new loot, I can pretty much knock out three birds with one stone. Furthermore, I usually don’t have the time or patience to do Naxx runs and still don’t know all of the encounters enough to PUG them, but of course 5-mans aren’t too bad.

If I had my choice, I would run Heroic 5-mans all of the time, but lately I’ve doing a lot of battlegrounds only because it’s easier to get a group going. Now that I’m in all purple and enchanted gear, with the exception of my wand, I can kick out some pretty high DPS and am really only doing the runs for badges, rep, and fun. With all of the great new changes that Blizz has made recently to the LFG system, I think another dimension should be added for people to find a group. Perhaps another set of boxes to click if you know the fights well, if you have good gear already, and also if you even have experience playing your class at all.

It’s a difficult subject to touch on. Perhaps the two most important people to have in a five man group are the tank and the healer and they can be tough to find sometimes. However, if you don’t know what you’re doing then it’s really a disservice to everyone else in regards to both time and patience. Of course people have to get experience somewhere, but I don’t think that heroic PUGs are the place to do it, especially when there are a few other options available.

heroic-fantasy

First, I would suggest doing guild runs on heroics. Here, your guildmates will be far more forgiving if you wipe than a group of people you don’t know. You might also be able to pick up some better gear as well. Second, I would suggest that they run the instance on regular until they can do it blindfolded. It sucks that sometimes DPS can half-ass things in an instance, but thats the way it is I guess. The whole group has to rely on whether or not the tank can hold aggro. For me it’s not a matter of being well geared or not, but just that the tank knows how to keep threat up enough so that the whole group doesn’t wipe.

I’m currently slowly leveling another priest up and he’s currently at about 38 or so. I’ve a had a little bit of healing experience before with my 58 horde priest, but I wouldn’t say I’m great at it…just decent. As a result, I’ll be damned if I get into a heroic before being fully confident in what I need to do. I’m not sure if it will work out well or not, but I’m planning on running quite a lot of PVP battlegrounds to get some basic skills up once I hit 80. It’s a very different environment than what you can find in 5-man instances, but nonetheless I can probably get some basic gear and get some healing skills under my belt.

It’s gotten to the point now where I get very hesitant to even put my name into the 5-man LFG queue, and when I do find a group that runs smoothly I want to play with them forever. Something must have happened recently because I never remember it being this tough before in Wrath PUG-ing, and in fact it was quite good most of the time. So much so that I think I read a number of articles on WoW Insider about it. But alas, something has changed. All I want to do is blow some shit up…

Brad

For the faction my character is associated with!

