413-halibut

I made it all the way to level 80 without ever fishing and then decided to give it a try for some achievements. I think I had a couple bad groups fall apart mid-instance one night and decided to give it a shot. Despite the fact that it’s a pretty mindless activity, I still had some fun with it. I started out in Stormwind and then moved to Ironforge to try for the rare fish achievement, Old Ironjaw. Having that goal in my mind got me over the hump of leveling up a bit and I eventually got him.

I realized that there was an equivalent fish for the Horde in Orgrimmar called Old Crafty, so to make things interesting I went in and gave it a shot. After getting killed a few times by the guards I made it to the pool and got in the corner. Since I was logging in from Japan, the time difference was pretty substantial which helped. But, knowing that I could get ganked at any second certainly added some much needed excitement to it. I tried for a couple hours but never got it. I still may try again someday, but lately grinding rep is high on my list of things to do among others.

I haven’t done any of the new fishing quests yet but plan on getting around to them in the next couple weeks. Although I read that the drop rate is crazy low, I’m also interested in trying to get the turtle mount. If you haven’t heard about it yet, it’s a world drop that comes from any pool in Northrend. According to one website, they couldn’t even quantify a drop rate because it was so low. I did manage to buy the epic fishing pole from the Kalu’ak which looks pretty cool.

Also in Northrend, the fountain in Dalaran is a nice way to level up while also working towards a few acheivements. Because of it’s size however, it gets tough if even two other people are fishing in the same spot. I’ve heard a lot of people talk about the coins in the fountain having great bits of lore on them, but honestly I didn’t think too much of it at all. I enjoy some of the lore of the game, but the coins didn’t do much for me.

Overall, I think it’s cool that there is a variety of things you can do in-game from raids and PVP to fishing and cooking. I think that’s one of the things that keeps me logging in time after time. Depending on my mood or how much time I have to play, there is always something to do.With that said, fishing isn’t incredibly appealing to me at the moment but I’m sure I’ll get heavy into it again for some achievements.

Feel free to share your thoughts on fishing.

Brad

For the faction my character is associated with!

